Keegan Swenson and Carolin Schiff win Garmin UNBOUND Gravel

Keegan Swenson and Carolin Schiff won the 2023 edition of Life Time’s Garmin UNBOUND Gravel presented by Craft Sportswear. Featuring the largest field size in the event’s history, approximately 4,000 riders took on grueling courses through the Flint Hills region completing 25-mile, 50-mile, 100-mile, 200-mile and 350-mile XL distances.

In the flagship 200-mile distance, a muddy section began at about mile 11 and continued for several miles, causing the racers to walk, run, or ride in the grass on the side of the gravel road. Some riders’ suffered race-delaying or race-ending mechanical issues because of the mud. After dry conditions mid-race, the rain returned to drench the finish line in the evening.

Keegan Swenson won the Men's 2023 edition of Life Time’s Garmin UNBOUND Gravel presented by Craft Sportswear.
Carolin Schiff won the Women's 2023 edition of Life Time’s Garmin UNBOUND Gravel presented by Craft Sportswear.

In the elite women’s race, Jenna Rinehart opened an early gap of about two minutes, but 2022 winner Sofia Gomez Villafane overtook her and gained about a minute by mile 40. Near mile 70, Carolin Schiff of Germany caught Villafane with the likes of Ruth Winder, Marisa Boaz, Sarah Sturm, and Alexis Skarda in pursuit. Schiff really began opening up her advantage near the halfway point, ultimately winning by more than 15 minutes.

The men’s race was also impacted by the muddy road. By mile 20, there was a lead group of about 10 riders including Kiel Reijnen, Keegan Swenson, Howard Grotts, and Russell Finsterwald. Lachlan Morton and Ian Boswell pushed the pace early on, creating separation between the lead group of riders and the chasers behind. The group would eventually be whittled down to seven riders who began to play cat and mouse as they closed in on Commercial Street. It was ultimately Swenson who won the sprint, improving on his second-place performance in 2022.

“I realized that I could maybe make it,” Schiff said at the winner’s press conference. “My team from Canyon was just pushing me at the aid station.  They told me ‘okay you have a gap and keep on going,’ and I did.”

“It’s nice to win this race,” Swenson said at the press conference. “Second was a great result last year and I was content with it but to come up that short after almost 10 hours of racing is a bummer to lose it in a sprint.”

Full results for all categories can be found here.

200-mile Pro Women’s Race Results

Caroline SchiffBremen, Germany3711:46:39
Sofia Gomez VillafaneHeber City, Utah3012:01:50
Sarah SturmDurango, Colo.3312:08:09
Danni ShosbreeRichmond, England2812:08:20
Sarah LangeLyme, N.H.3112:15:40

200-mile Pro Men’s Race Results

Keegan SwensonHeber City, Utah2910:06:02
Petr VakocPrague, Czech Republic3010:06:03
Lachlan MortonBoulder, Colo.3110:06:05
Laurens ten DamOudorp, The Netherlands4210:06:08  
Ian BoswellBarnet, Vt.3210:06:08

200-mile Non-Binary Race Results

Rach McBrideVancouver, Canada4512:46:35

200-mile Para Women’s Race Results


200-mile Para Men’s Race Results

Tristan BangmaApeldoorn, The Netherlands2512:12:19

100-mile Women’s Race Results

Tiffany CromwellChinnor, England346:13:54
Maria DoeringBanner Elk, N.C.246:39:21
Lauren ZoernerHighlands Ranch, Colo.206:39:57
Kae TakeshitaItasca, Ill.396:44:48
Laura KingRichmond, Vt.406:48:22

100-mile  Men’s Race Results

David BrowerGrand Rapids, Mich.195:49:57
ElliotPhillipsLondon, England275:49:58
Brian McCullochYucaipa, Calif.405:49:58
Scott FunstonBoulder, Colo.235:49:58
Colby PearceBoulder, Colo.505:53:20

100-mile Non-Binary Race Results

Bonnie BransonEdmond, Okla.467:30:19
Shaune HuysamenAlpharetta, Ga.428:24:53
Tomas PerezOverland Park, Kan.488:52:41
Travis TemplinWest Valley City, Utah339:02:03
Matthew RoseCalhoun, La.289:14:43

100-mile Para Men’s Race Results

Kai LuanChicago, Ill.289:53:25

350-mile Women’s Race Results

Kristen LeganNederland, Colo.3726:06:35
Anne-Marije RookPortland, Ore.3628:03:32

350-mile Men’s Race Results

Logan KasperBaldinwinville, Mass.2922:54:25
Luke HallBoulder, Colo.3524:40:44
Ulrich BartholmoesMunich, Germany3625:00:10
Geoffrey LangatNairobi, Kenya3325:36:28
Chris MehlmanManchester, Mass.2326:00:14

Garmin UNBOUND Gravel Presented by Craft was the second race of seven in the Life Time Grand Prix presented by Mazda. The series features 70 elite and professional athletes who will face off for a $250,000, equally split prize purse. Athletes will be ranked against the other competitors by points received based on their finishing position at each event.

The next event on the Life Time off-road event calendar–and third event in the Life Time Grand Prix series–is the 70-mile Crusher in the Tushar on July 8 in Beaver, Utah.

To see the full leaderboard with all athlete standings for the Life Time Grand Prix presented by Mazda, visit: Follow along throughout the 2023 season on Instagram: @lifetimegrandprix.

The Garmin UNBOUND Gravel presented by Craft and Life Time Grand Prix presented by Mazda are owned and produced by Life Time, the premier healthy lifestyle brand. UNBOUND GRAVEL is among more than 30 premier athletic events owned and produced by the company across the nation, which also operates more than 150 athletic resorts and spas in the U.S. and Canada. Life Time strives to produce exceptional event experiences for both participants and spectators as an extension of its Healthy Way of Life philosophy.

About Life Time®, Inc.

Life Time (NYSE: LTH) empowers people to live healthy, happy lives through its portfolio of nearly 160 athletic country clubs across the United States and Canada. The company’s healthy way of life communities and ecosystem address all aspects of healthy living, healthy aging, and healthy entertainment for people 90 days to 90+ years old. Supported by a team of more than 30,000 dedicated professionals, Life Time is committed to providing the best programs and experiences through its clubs, iconic athletic events, and comprehensive digital platform.

# # #



Adventure, Travel, Outdoors, Gear and Fitness